Yoga / Squeeze machine update

Well, I’m pleased (and pretty surprised) to say that the “yoga effect” is still with me. (Sometimes I wonder if this is what junkies feel like, seeking out a specific good feeling!)  All kidding aside, though, I’ve noticed that I am much calmer and less easily rattled since starting my “experiment.” Traffic (my biggest challenge, as a commuter) doesn’t drive me nearly as crazy, and my brain feels a bit less “noisy” and hyperactive now.

The effect comes and goes in waves, strongest right after a class and diminishing the next day, but it is unmistakeably there: a classic case of “the brain that changes itself,” I think.

And this week, I took the bull by the horns and went back for another class with the Other Teacher. Thankfully, it was just fine.

(One good thing about Asperger’s is it gives you a persistence that other people find astonishing. I was determined to overcome my terrible phobia of spiders, for example, and over the last several years I have managed to dial it back from about a 15 out of 10 to about a 5 or a 6, depending on the size of the arachnid involved. Not that a yoga teacher is in any way like a spider, mind you!)

How is a yoga teacher like a spider? Discuss.

Anyway, this persistence has served me well in this case: I am very motivated to continue with yoga, and that means trying out all the teachers, rather than just sticking to the one. Otherwise I wouldn’t have as many classes to choose from, and my experiment would be skewed because I wouldn’t know how much of the effect was simply due to the teacher.

So, once I had made up my mind to learn from Teacher Number Two, everything went much better: I even made jokes in her class (and she laughed — bonus!) and maybe she noticed me cringing in her spin class a few times because the music there is less loud now.

Either that or my hypersensitivity to noise is being reduced in this “experiment” as well. A friend of mine said it would be interesting to do an FMRI (Functional Magnetic Resonance Imaging) of my brain as I continue this process; I agree. Alas, the four titanium screws in my right knee have ruled this out; my devotion to science ends at having shards of metal shooting out of my leg!

There are a couple more teachers I haven’t tried out yet, so I will give them a whirl as well. I have a sneaking feeling I know what the results will be, already.

That’s all for now.

 

3 thoughts on “Yoga / Squeeze machine update

  1. I know this is an older post so you may not have the answer, but I’m wondering if you can share the kind of yoga you were doing that was helpful, or the poses that helped you experience the unwinding that you had? There are so many styles. Thanks so much! 🙂

    • I was doing both Ashtanga & a quieter, more meditative kind whose name I forget. Depending on the day/mood, they both suited me. All styles end with a quiet-down period at the end, and that is ideal for Aspies, in my experience! Hope you give it a try. 🙂

      AG.

Leave a Reply

